A clockwork counterpoint

The music and literature of Anthony Burgess

By Paul Phillips

A clockwork counterpoint
Paperback -
  • Price: £30.00
  • ISBN: 9780719072055
  • Publish Date: Jun 2014
  • Publisher: Manchester University Press
  • Buy Now £30.00

    Delivery Exc. North and South America


    Delivery to North and South America

    Click Here to Buy from Your Preferred Bookseller

    Book Information

    • Format: Paperback
    • ISBN: 978-0-7190-7205-5
    • Pages: 492
    • Price: £30.00
    • Published Date: June 2014


    A Clockwork Counterpoint is the first book to examine the musical side of Anthony Burgess, an astonishingly prolific, underrated and talented composer, revealing how his lifelong involvement in music is an essential key toward understanding his life and work.

    Whether explaining the sonata form structure of A Clockwork Orange and the musical underpinnings of dozens of his other novels, his distinctive views on the interrelationship between music and literature, music's role in his ties to his father and wives, or what his compositions tell us about his troubled relationship with his son, A Clockwork Counterpoint illuminates Burgess's dual creative life, providing the first complete portrait of a prodigious artist whose musical accomplishments have remained largely unknown until now.


    1. The Truly Great Artistic Moment
    2. Boyhood
    3. Burgeoning Composer
    4. War: Britain & Gibraltar
    5. Peace: Preston, Bamber Bridge & Banbury
    6. Malaya
    7. Brunei
    8. "Terminal" Year
    9. Nasty Little Shockers
    10. Eschatological Escapades
    11. Shakespeare in Love
    12. Pure Music
    13. Family Affairs
    14. Kubrick the Sinny Veck
    15. Ancient Evenings
    16. Bonaparte con brio
    17. Symphonic Shakespeare
    18. The Old Joanna
    19. The Love Song of F X Enderby
    20. Roman Carnival
    21. Knickerbocker Holiday
    22. Poetic License
    23. Grace Notes
    24. Odes to Joyce
    25. Nuns and Lovers
    26. Blest Pair of Sirens
    27. Alex in Eden
    28. The Sad Suck-and-Blow
    29. One-Handed Clavichord
    30. Wind and Son
    31. Commemorations
    32. Manchester and Mozart United
    33. Confessions and Conclusions
    34. Opus Posthumous
    APPENDIX 1 List of Music Compositions
    APPENDIX 2 Song Texts and Poems
    APPENDIX 3 Prologue to A Clockwork Orange


    Paul Phillips is the Gretchen B. Kimball Director of Orchestral Studies and Associate Professor of Music at Stanford University

    A clockwork counterpoint

    By Paul Phillips

    Paperback £30.00 / $45.95

    Or buy from your preferred bookseller:

    Amazon Waterstones Blackwells Bookshop

    Newsletter Sign Up

    Manchester University Press

    Your cart is empty.

    Select your shipping destination to estimate postage costs

    (Based on standard shipping costs)

    Final cost calculated on checkout
    Promotional codes can be added on Checkout

    Sign up for our newsletter and get 30% off any MUP title.