A clockwork counterpoint

The music and literature of Anthony Burgess

By Paul Phillips

A clockwork counterpoint

Book Information

  • Format: Paperback
  • ISBN: 978-0-7190-7205-5
  • Pages: 492
  • Publisher: Manchester University Press
  • Price: £25.99
  • Published Date: June 2014
  • BIC Category: Literature, Ireland, United Kingdom, Great Britain, LITERARY CRITICISM / European / English, Irish, Scottish, Welsh, Literature: history & criticism, Biography: general, Literature & literary studies / Literary studies: fiction, novelists & prose writers, Biography & True Stories / Biography: general, LITERARY CRITICISM / Modern / General


A Clockwork Counterpoint is the first book to examine the musical side of Anthony Burgess, an astonishingly prolific, underrated and talented composer, revealing how his lifelong involvement in music is an essential key toward understanding his life and work.

Whether explaining the sonata form structure of A Clockwork Orange and the musical underpinnings of dozens of his other novels, his distinctive views on the interrelationship between music and literature, music's role in his ties to his father and wives, or what his compositions tell us about his troubled relationship with his son, A Clockwork Counterpoint illuminates Burgess's dual creative life, providing the first complete portrait of a prodigious artist whose musical accomplishments have remained largely unknown until now.


1. The Truly Great Artistic Moment
2. Boyhood
3. Burgeoning Composer
4. War: Britain & Gibraltar
5. Peace: Preston, Bamber Bridge & Banbury
6. Malaya
7. Brunei
8. "Terminal" Year
9. Nasty Little Shockers
10. Eschatological Escapades
11. Shakespeare in Love
12. Pure Music
13. Family Affairs
14. Kubrick the Sinny Veck
15. Ancient Evenings
16. Bonaparte con brio
17. Symphonic Shakespeare
18. The Old Joanna
19. The Love Song of F X Enderby
20. Roman Carnival
21. Knickerbocker Holiday
22. Poetic License
23. Grace Notes
24. Odes to Joyce
25. Nuns and Lovers
26. Blest Pair of Sirens
27. Alex in Eden
28. The Sad Suck-and-Blow
29. One-Handed Clavichord
30. Wind and Son
31. Commemorations
32. Manchester and Mozart United
33. Confessions and Conclusions
34. Opus Posthumous
APPENDIX 1 List of Music Compositions
APPENDIX 2 Song Texts and Poems
APPENDIX 3 Prologue to A Clockwork Orange


Paul Phillips is the Gretchen B. Kimball Director of Orchestral Studies and Associate Professor of Music at Stanford University

Newsletter Sign Up

Manchester University Press

Your cart is empty.

Select your shipping destination to estimate postage costs

(Based on standard shipping costs)

Final cost calculated on checkout
Promotional codes can be added on Checkout