Labour orators from Bevan to Miliband

Edited by Andrew S. Roe-Crines and Richard Hayton

Labour orators from Bevan to Miliband


  • eBook

Book Information

  • Format: Hardcover
  • ISBN: 978-0-7190-8980-0
  • Pages: 272
  • Publisher: Manchester University Press
  • Price: £90.00
  • Published Date: February 2015
  • BIC Category: Political Leaders & Leadership, Society & social sciences / Politics & government, Politics & government, Political ideologies, BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Political, POLITICAL SCIENCE / Political Ideologies / Communism, Post-Communism & Socialism


How do leading Labour figures strive to communicate with and influence the electorate? Why have some proven more successful than others in advancing their ideological arguments? How do orators seek to connect with different audiences in different settings such as parliament, party conference and through the media? This thoroughly researched and highly readable collection comprehensively evaluates these questions as well as providing an extensive interrogation of the political and intellectual significance of oratory and rhetoric in the post-war Labour Party.

This collection evaluates the oratory and rhetoric of twelve leading figures from Labour politics: Aneurin Bevan, Hugh Gaitskell, Harold Wilson, Barbara Castle, James Callaghan, Michael Foot, Tony Benn, Neil Kinnock, John Smith, Tony Blair, Gordon Brown and Ed Miliband. Each chapter explores how its subject attempted to use oratory to advance their agenda within the party and beyond.

Students of British politics, Labour history and communication studies will find this volume essential reading.


1. The oratory of Aneurin Bevan - Andrew S. Crines and Keith Laybourn
2. The oratory of Hugh Gaitskell - Timothy Heppell and Thomas McMeeking
3. The oratory of Harold Wilson - Michael Hill
4. The oratory of Barbara Castle - David S. Moon
5. The oratory of James Callaghan - Stephen Meredith
6. The oratory of Michael Foot - David Stewart
7. The oratory of Tony Benn - Mark Garnett
8. The oratory of Neil Kinnock - David S. Moon
9. The oratory of John Smith - Robin T. Pettitt
10. The oratory of Tony Blair - Mark Bennister
11. The oratory of Gordon Brown - Judi Atkins
12. The oratory of Ed Miliband- Andrew S. Crines

Conclusion - Andrew S. Crines


Andrew S. Crines is a Research Fellow in Rhetoric and British Politics at the University of Leeds

Richard Hayton is a Lecturer in Politics at the University of Leeds

Labour orators from Bevan to Miliband

Edited by Andrew S. Roe-Crines, Richard Hayton

Hardcover £90.00 / $140.00

Or buy from your preferred bookseller:

Amazon Waterstones Blackwells

Click here for North and South America

Newsletter Sign Up

Manchester University Press

Your cart is empty.

Select your shipping destination to estimate postage costs

(Based on standard shipping costs)

Final cost calculated on checkout
Promotional codes can be added on Checkout