Award winning books

Take a look at our recent and previous prize winning books and learn more about the awards below.

Recent prizes include

Dying for the nationWinner of the Social History Society Book Prize 2022

Personalised cancer medicineShortlisted for the Foundation for the 2022 Sociology of Health and Illness Book Prize 

Proscribing peaceWinner of the BISA 2022 L.H.M. Ling Outstanding First Book Prize

Capitalising on constraintShortlisted for the UACES Best Book Prize 2022

The shifting borderShortlisted for the 2022 C.B. Macpherson Prize

The fringes of citizenshipASN Rothschild Book Prize (Honorable Mention)

Painting Dublin – ACIS Michael J Durkan Prize for Books on Language and Culture (Honorable Mention)

Transplantation Gothic – Longlisted for the Allan Lloyd Smith Memorial Prize

Bog bodiesWinner of Book of the Year 2022 at the Current Archaeology Awards

Germany’s Russia problemOne of the TLS’s Books of the year 2021 (chosen by Rachel Polonsky)

Imperial nostalgia – One of BBC History Magazine’s Books of the Year 2021 and The Guardian‘s Best Books of 2021 (chosen by Sathnam Sanghera)

The War on the Uyghurs – One of Foreign Affairs’ Best Books of 2021 and one of the Top 12 most-read new reviews on LSE Review of Books in 2021

Women art workers and the Arts and Crafts movement Winner of the Historians of British Art Award for a single-authored book with a subject between 1800-1960

Sonic ethnography – Winner of the 2021 John Collier Jr. Award for Still Photography

Edmund Spenser and the romance of space – Winner of the of the 2020 University English Book Prize

Distant sisters – Winner of the Mander Jones Award from the Australian Society of Archivists (Best publication that uses features or interprets Australian archives, written or edited by a person in their own right)

Women art workers and the Arts and Crafts movementWinner of the Women’s History Network Book Prize 2021 

Britain’s ‘brown babies’ – Winner of the 2021 Social History Society Book Prize 

Empires of light – Finalist for the Historians of British Art Book Prize 2021 (Exemplary Scholarship after 1800)

Victorian touring actresses – Shortlisted for the Theatre Book Prize 2021

Higher Education in a Globalizing World – HESIG Best Book Award, honourable mention

Deporting Black Britons – BSA Philip Abrams Memorial Prize 2021

Memory and the future of Europe – Shortlisted for the UACES Best Book Prize 2021

Bordering Britain – SLSA 2021 Theory & History prize


Previous prizes include

Dramas at Westminster – WJM Mackenzie Book Prize, PSA

The Looking Machine – CHOICE’S Outstanding Books of 2020

Unfinished Business – runner up, WJM Mackenzie Prize, PSA

Transplantation Gothic – Shortlisted for the 2020 British Society for Literature and Science book award

Distant sisters – Winner of the inaugural Donna Coates Book Prize 2021

Tattoos in crime and detective narratives – Winner of the International Crime Fiction Association Book Prize for non-fiction books

Conservative Revolutionary – Winner of The Elizabeth Longford Prize for Historical Biography 2020

Women’s medicine – Winner of the 2020 Henry-E.-Sigerist-Prize for the History of Medicine and Science

Photographic Subjects – Co-winner of the Royal Studies Journal Book Prize for 2020

Photographic Subjects – Winner of the inaugural 2020 Asian Studies Association of Australia mid-career book prize

Writing the Welsh borderlands in Anglo-Saxon England – Winner of the 2020 SEMA award for best first book

Ideal homes, 1918-39 – Winner of the 2020  Historians of British Art Book Award for Exemplary Scholarship on the Period after 1800

Landscape of Words – Winner of the 2019 Murphy First Book Prize from the American Conference for Irish Studies (ACIS) 

Writing the Welsh borderlands in Anglo-Saxon England – Winner of the 2019 International Society for the Study of Early Medieval England’s Best Book

From Partition to Brexit – Winner of the Political Studies Association of Ireland’s 2019 Brian Farrell book prize

Unlimited action – Longlisted for the Historians of British Art Book Award for Exemplary Scholarship on the Period after 1800

Leonora Carrington and the international avant-garde – Longlisted for the Historians of British Art Book Award for Exemplary Scholarship on the Period after 1800

Building reputations – Winner of the Alice Davis Hitchcock medallion for 2019

Unearthing childhood – Winner of the 2019 Archaeology & Ancient History PROSE award from the Association of American Publishers (AAP)

Stacking the coffins – Winner of the CHOICE Outstanding Academic Titles Award

The gestures of participatory art – Winner of the 2019 ASCA Book Award

Transatlantic traumas – Winner of the CHOICE Outstanding Academic Titles Award

Performing women – Winner of the David Bevington Award 2019

Children born of war in the twentieth century – Runner up in the 2019 Social History Book Prize

The gothic novel in Ireland, c. 1760–1829 – Winner of the Rhodes Prize for Literature and Language 2019

The synthetic proposition – Winner of the 31st annual Charles C. Eldredge Prize for Distinguished Scholarship in American Art

From Partition to Brexit – Winner of the PSAI Book of the Year for 2018

Environment, labour, and capitalism at sea – Winner of the Society for the Anthropology of Work Book Prize 2018

Women poets of the English Civil War – Winner of the 2018 Society for the Study of Early Modern Women Award for Best Teaching Edition

Polysituatedness – Winner of the 2018 Niall Lucy Award

Tea and empire – Shortlisted for the Saltire Society Research Book of the Year Award 2018

Noble society – Choice Outstanding Academic Title 2018

Ideal homes, 1918-39 – Shortlisted for the Society of Architectural Historians of Great Britain Alice Davis Hitchcock Medallion 2018

Dangerous bodies – Winner of the Alan Lloyd Smith Memorial Prize in 2017

The extended self –  CICA Bruno Zevi Book Award 2017

From empire to exileRHS Gladstone Prize

Loud and proudBBC Radio 4’s Thinking Allowed Award for Ethnography 2017

Ephemeral city – 2017 Gladys Krieble Delmas Book Prize for the best book in Venetian Renaissance history

Spenser and Virgil – The Isabel MacCaffrey Award 2017

Shakespeare’s storms –  2016 Shakespeare’s Globe Book Award

Our fighting sisters – Women’s History Network Book Prize 2016

Health, medicine and the sea – Society for the History of Navy Medicine Book Prize 2016

Britain and the formation of the Gulf States – Japan Consortium for Area Studies Award (Toryu-sho category) 2016

Between earth and heaven – Southeastern Medieval Association Award for Best First Book 2016

Training minds for the war of ideas – PSA Group Prize

Manchester University Press

Your cart is empty.

Select your shipping destination to estimate postage costs

(Based on standard shipping costs)

Final cost calculated on checkout
Promotional codes can be added on Checkout